Maths Tutors, English Tutors Maths Tutors, English Tutors


Rachel C harles.

Tutor Type Expert Tutor
Teaching Experience 2 years
Travel radius 20 km from St Kilda
Tuition Fee
$60.00/hour (Prep to Year 10)
$68.00/hour (VCE)
24 hour cancellation notice required

Book Rachel

Subjects I can Tutor

Secondary English 7-10
General English

About Me

I am newly arrived in Melbourne from Manchester, UK and have taught a massive variety of young people on a one-to-one basis, as well as whole classes as a qualified teacher. The thing I most enjoy about tutoring is how much progress a young person is able to make with individual input and attention, and how much this impacts on their confidence. I also really like to discover more about my tutees’ personalities, and have found that pupils who may be disaffected or poorly behaved in a classroom setting, ‘show off,’ a real work ethic and desire to learn when they are on their own or a smaller group.
Outside of teaching I enjoy cooking (and eating!) great food, wandering aimlessly and discovering more things to love about Melbourne, as well as reading, travelling and racquet sports – I’m now on the hunt for a good squash club in Port Phillip!

Teaching Experience
tutored for more than 2 years
Qualified Secondary School Teacher, Experienced tutor

Whilst at The University of Manchester completing my BA in English Language, I worked as a part-time Learning Mentor providing out of school support to young people with behavioural issues.

After my undergraduate degree, I qualified as a Secondary English Teacher in July 2014 and joined an OFSTED rated, ‘Outstanding,’ school in Cheshire, UK. Whilst there, I taught English Literature and English Language to mixed-ability classes, from ages 11-18. I had particular success with my Y7, 8 and 9 classes, with all pupils meeting or exceeding their target grade. I also provided additional exam support on a one-to-one basis for Y11 and Y12 pupils who were not on track to achieving their target grade and was able to help each of these pupils to succeed in their final exams.

Following my time in the UK I moved to an international school in the United Arab Emirates, delivering the English Literature and Language British Curriculum to many pupils who had English as an Additional Language. This taught me how to modify an existing curriculum to make it more accessible to learners with other languages. I was most proud of my Y10 class (which had only one English First Language speaker) because the majority of pupils (particularly the boys) were initially extremely reluctant to engage, but with tailored support and differentiated resources they began to participate and progress in English within a few weeks. Whilst in the UAE I also worked after school hours as a private tutor for two boys, aged 12 and 14.

Contact or book a lesson with Rachel
Enter email
I would like lessons

Subject Selection

Location: St Kilda, VIC

Rachel will travel within 20 km of St Kilda

Master of Arts Education – University of Melbourne
Post-Graduate Certficate of Education – University of Melbourne
BA (hons) English Language – University of Melbourne

Monday 5:00 PM     –     8:00 PM
Wednesday 4:30 PM     –     8:00 PM
Thursday 4:30 PM     –     8:00 PM
Friday 4:30 PM     –     6:15 PM